Remove this ad

Lead

Jun 20 09 8:27 AM

Tags : :

Considering the amount of money we all spend on fresh fruit and veggies, growing some of your own stuff in the backyard is a great idea . I started my garden about this time last year to help feed all my hungry mouths. I had no idea what I was doing initially but, like guinea pigs, it's kind of addictive and makes you want to learn more. It's not as hard as you think, as long as you get a few basic things right. So here's my very rough beginner's guide to guinea pig gardens - I'm no expert and have limited experience, but it works for me!!

LOCATION: Most fruit and veg plants need full sun to grow well. This means putting them in a place that will get at least a few hours of direct sunlight a day. I grow mine in big pots so I can move them throughout the year to the sunny spots in my yard. My pots are about 30cm across and about 30cm deep, and I can grow two to four seedlings up to mature size in each.

Your call when I whistle, your nose at the bars when I walk past - makes it all worthwhile
~Caitlin~

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#1 [url]

Jun 20 09 8:28 AM

SOIL: It's important to have good quality soil as this is what's feeding the plants. If you're growing in pots, get a good quality organic potting mix, ideally one that's advertised for growing veggies. If you're growing in garden beds, aerate the soil and mix in some manure or compost to make the soil really rich in nutrients. Make sure it's well drained, I put gravel at the bottom of my pots to make sure the roots don't get waterlogged.